Skip to content

ELECTION 2022: Election results from Tofino, Ucluelet and Area C

Ucluelet set to elect new mayor as Tofino welcomes new municipal councillors

The West Coast hit the polls today to choose the local leaders who will steer their towns for the next four years.

Marilyn McEwen has been elected mayor of Ucluelet, taking over from Mayco Noel who did not run for re-election.

Tofino was the first district to post unofficial election results Saturday night.

Below is a full rundown of the results as they come in with the winning candidates in bold:

Ucluelet’s mayoral race:

Marilyn McEwen - 381 votes, 59.3%

Rachelle Cole - 198 votes, 30.8%

Bruce Faith - 64 votes, 10%

Four candidates put their names forward for Ucluelet’s four council seats and all were acclaimed with one incumbent Jennifer Hoar joining three newcomers: Shawn Anderson, Ian Kennington and Mark Maftei.

The town cast 643 ballots out of 2,060 estimated eligible voters for a 31 per cent voter turnout. In 2018’s general municipal election the town cast 796 ballots out of an estimated 1,276 eligible voters for a 62 per cent voter turnout.

READ MORE: Meet your acclaimed Ucluelet councillors

READ MORE: Ucluelet mayoral candidates pitch their platforms at forum

READ MORE: Ucluelet mayor decides not to run for re-election

In Tofino, mayor Dan Law ran for re-election unopposed and was acclaimed. Seven candidates ran for the town’s six councillor seats with all three incumbents, Tom Stere, Al Anderson and Duncan McMaster earning back their seats and joining newcomers Sarah Sloman, Ali Sawyer and Kat Thomas, who narrowly bested John Enns by two votes for the final spot.

Tofino cast 359 ballots out of 2,081 estimated eligible voters in 2022’s election for a 17 per cent turnout, a significant decline in participation from 2018’s general municipal election that saw 929 ballots cast out of 1,411 registered voters for a 66 per cent turnout.

Tofino councillor candidates

Tom Stere - 301 votes, 83.8%

Sarah Sloman - 292 votes, 81.3%

Al Anderson - 263 votes, 73.3%

Ali Sawyer - 223 votes, 62.1%

Duncan McMaster - 210 votes, 58.5%

Kat Thomas - 178 votes, 49.6%

John Enns - 176 votes, 49%

READ MORE: Tofino municipal councillor candidates introduce themselves

READ MORE: WATCH: Tofino councillor candidates talk housing and recreation

READ MORE: Tofino mayor running unopposed in municipal election

Area C (Long Beach):

Saya Masso - 18 votes, 28.1%

Vaida Siga - 46 votes, 71.9%

Incumbent Kel Robert did not run for re-election.

READ MORE: Electoral Area C (Long Beach) candidates introduce themselves

READ MORE: Nomination period extended after Electoral Area C deadline passes with no candidates

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Andrew Bailey

About the Author: Andrew Bailey

I arrived at the Westerly News as a reporter and photographer in January 2012.
Read more